We Simply Must

Its that time of year here in Wisconsin; here in our home school. My oldest does not want to do anything. He has completely lost interest in anything related to learning.

Honestly, I don’t feel like doing school either. Truth be told, there are a lot of days when I don’t feel like doing those things that I must. In the final weeks of my pregnancy, seeming to catch every little bug that comes my way, well, I am tired and achy and tired.  It doesn’t help that we are kind of stuck indoors right now too; only so much time I can spend on my feet. And the weather? Yuck!  No biking or hiking; no sitting outside on the swing reading while the kids play and ride and draw and blow bubbles…..The sun just will not come out.  cabin fever anyone!?!?

 

But you know what?  We still need to do school, even when we just don’t feel like it. It’s all a part of the life we have chosen.

How can we instill a love of learning in our children if we are seen dreading it ourselves?

Maybe now, in those days of “I don’t wanna…” it just looks a bit different.

 

I am not a fan of television (never had one, we donow since the boys all love their television but give me a book and let me be..) but right now, its a good time to find some fun videos that we can learn from too. Like How the States Got Their Shapes; Sea Rescue; How Things Work; Mighty Machines; there is even TedTalks for Kids. And I admit, I LOVE TedTalks.

We are reading more too. Taking a break from worksheets and textbooks (not that we ever use those much ourselves) to read and explore our own library. I started a commonplace book recently; my oldest son began notebooking and is right now focusing on anatomy; my son who is 5 is learning to read and really taking to learning the game of Risk (we call him little Napoleon) and my daughter – she cooks and sings and likes to “do hair” on mommy and her dolls. She snuggles up with all of us and we read for hours on end. Or they build with legos while I read, whether its from my Bible, a children’s book, or one of the many on my list of reads. And we are together planning a garden for this spring; possibly we will learn how to can from a friend at our church. Real life learning.  Not what we always think it is but if we are honest it works.

I need to accept that. Embrace that. After all it is why we homeschool in the first place. So that they can live and learn those things that really matter.  In a way that is natural and allows them to learn at their own pace, in their own time.

It’s hard to remember sometimes (even though I tell others all the time) that home education never really looks the same from one day to the next. Its beautiful and so right because it is (and can be) so very different. Home education is unique; it fits because we make it fit. We can change it from day to day, from moment to moment. It is a part of life. It is a way of life.

 

We have to leave the conveyor belt behind. We have to let go, and have faith that as we encourage and nurture and inspire our children, where they are, that they are gaining so much more. Even if we cannot always see it. Especially when we (and they) do not feel like it.

 

 

“

Leave a Reply

