So Why?

Children are a blessing from the Lord.

Lo, children are an heritage from the LORD, and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

Psalm 127:3

Should we not always seek God’s blessings in our life? How much more should we desire children, God’s most precious of gifts?

 

Lately I struggle to bend over as I get closer to my due date; I am excited and tired. Eager to meet this precious baby that is growing inside of me, restless and frustrated with the ongoing feelings of sickness and weakness.  Being tired, needing to lay down and rest. It seems, all the time. I am weary of picking up clothes, toys, and other random things from underneath tables and chairs.  My senses are super sensitive; the kids screams and shouts (in joy) they are now painful and I do believe they could even shatter glass… whining and fighting….its almost impossible for me to bear.

 

I have to remind myself of this almost daily right now. As I push down the desire to groan and complain about my discomfort; the inconvenience of this pregnancy….I remember those I have met, friends known from long ago ,who struggled to have children and for some, that prayer, may never be answered. I am being blessed, abundantly, with another sweet babe – I need to remember how great a gift this truly is.

 

There will always be trials. We will always have struggles. As I tell my oldest son often, nothing that is truly worth having, comes easily. There is work to be done, there are sacrifices that we need to make ~ Sometimes we just need to lay down. ❤

 

It isn’t easy, I know. It’s not the popular thing to do. It’s a lack of peace, often times minimal sleep, short and quick sometimes lukewarm showers…. a hot meal, what’s that? There are times that we are simply bombarded with demands, needs, complaints, tears….Seemingly never-ending.

 

And this is when we have to remember how Christ came, for us, how He died for us ~ He laid down His life for ours.  It’s a powerful reminder of what it means to be a momma.

 

We certainly had our fair share of tantrums; we struggled and grumbled; how I fought to have my way (and now and then I admit I still have those moments), yet we have been shown such grace.  We were ugly, unkind, unloving, so undeserving and yet still, He laid down for us. He continued to love and sacrifice for us.

 

Paul says, “Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us” (Phil. 3:17).

 

I desperately need Christ in my life.  Every moment, every day.  Paul says in Romans 7:15 saying: “For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.”

 

And then he says when writing to the church at Philippi, he knew himself to be the “chief of sinners”. He remembers with shame how he persecuted the Lord’s church and thus, the Lord Himself (Phil. 3:6; Acts 9:4).

 

I strive to remain as humble as he; to praise God even in my storms. To thank Him for the trials He brings my way, that can only make my walk that much greater going Him that much more glory.  He laid down His life and I was so undeserving. He gave up everything for me.  For you too.

 

When we are born again, Christ, He lives in us. He gives us power to walk in the Spirit, not in the flesh. Our children, they need to see the love of Christ through our life.  They need to see that love and grace that He showed us because even when they are “undeserving” we once (maybe today we are) were too.

 

Leave a Reply

