Only He Knew

If someone had told me ten years ago that I woudl be doing what I am doing today …

I think I would have laughed – maybe I would have told them they were nuts – possibly I would have slapped them in the face

I never imagined….Yet He knew – He always knew that this past Friday on the 24th of April I would be in a hospital room – giving birth to our fifth blessing

 

   Rachel Madison. That face – those eyes – the intent gaze on her little face. This is what its all about. Precious moments – life, as amazing and impossible as it is – a most wonderful gift from God.

 

I am in awe. Every time. So precious are these little ones. God does have the best gifts for us.  And no matter how many times He shows Himself in our lives, every time, its so new and amazing. Its always like the first time.

 

These children are God’s best gift.  The fruit of the womb is His blessing on us. Our legacy.

Lo, children are an heritage from the LORD, and the fruit of the womb is his reward.  ~~ Psalm 127:3

 

Don’t we all seek God’s blessings for our life?  How much more should we desire children, these being the greatest gifts from the Lord?

 

 

Think about it. Throughout the Bible it is clear.

And whosoever shall receive one such little child in my name receives me.

Matthew 18:5

Again and again we are told that we ought to seek after these little blessnings; repeatedly He tells us that these children are a gift from the Lord.  We receive Christ, we serve Christ, when we receive and serve these children.

 

Take heed that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you, that in heaven their angels do always behold the face of my Father which is in heaven.

Matthew 18:10

We are even advised that we ought to seek Christ as a small child. It is about that innocence, and simplicity to which we are called — one in which our earthly cares never distract us from following Christ. That faith that just believes.

 

How amazing it is to me to see His hand in my life.  Even before I realized He was there.  Its that love He has for us all that is just so amazing and inspiring.  His patience and His mercy.  I see the grace even so long ago.  Before.

 

 

“The efforts which a mother makes for the improvement of her child in knowledge and virtue, are necessarily retired and unobtrusive. The world knows nothing of them; and hence the world has been slow to perceive how powerful and extensive is this secret and silent influence….the influence which is exerted upon the mind during the first eight or ten years of existence, in a great degree guides the destinies of that mind for time and eternity! And as the mother is the guardian and guide of the early years of life, from her goes the most powerful influence in the formation of the character of man.” John Abbott

 

 

It all begins with love.  That same love that He loves us with. I cannot do it all the right way, all the time. I know too well how imperfect I am.  And for that very reason I consider myself so very blessed, beyond blessed actually, to have a God who is my strength and my joy. I remember every moment His love for me, His presence and His power. We can do all things, hrough Christ, who strengthens us.  If I didn’t believe it, if I doubted, ten years ago, in these ten years, how He has moved in my life. How He has born me again, anew. How He has blessed me with these children that I see Him in, when I look at their faces.

 

 

Leave a Reply

