GOD’s Word is RELEVANT — Sharing Scripture (Week 1) FRIENDSHIP

This month, only for August, come pour over GOD’s Word and share relevant Bible verses in a once-a-week post.  Every Monday we will be linking up and sharing our finds as we DIG IN to Scripture that is relevant to a one word topic.  The topics we’ll be studying together are:

 

Friendship (August 3)
Hope (August 10)
Weary (August 17)
Strength (August 24)
Peace (August 31)

 

You can use a concordance if you like, to dig into the meaning of the words, their history, and symbolism. We all know how deep the Word tends to go right? Or share how what you read speaks to your heart.  I pray that this little series will be encouraging to all who read and share along the way.  Let us grow together; coming together to reason and gain a greater understanding of the Lord and all He has for us. Do come and link up with us or just share your favorite verses.  Bless you and let’s DIG IN to the Word of God!

Today’s topic is FRIENDSHIP.

 

 

 

   I have never been one to have many friends. For as long as I can remember I have always had 1 maybe 2 that I consider close and dear to me. So many things we went through together; always we held each other up in dark times. Always we celebrated the good times together too.

 

Through the years and since coming into the church, being born again, and seeing everything through such a different light, I have realized as we have grown apart, that there is much more to friendship than I thought there was. While I was always cautious and very particular about who I befriended, the more I learn, the more God shares with me of His truth, the more I understand how it can be such a blessing! And if we are not careful a danger too.

 

Last year, since my kids are Bible Quizzers in our church’s program, we spent a lot of time in the Book of Proverbs.  Proverbs is another good source of wisdom regarding friends. “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.” (Proverbs 17:17). “A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24).If we wish to have a friend, we must strive to be a friend. “Faithful are the wounds of a friend; but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.” (Proverbs 27:6). “Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.” (Proverbs 27:17).

 

But even outside of this one book there is so much we can learn, and need to understand, about friendship.

 

Jesus defines friendship for us when He says: “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.  Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.” (John 15:13-16).

 

I have aways agreed with whoever it was that said, “if you can count your true friends on the fingers of one hand, you are blessed”.   As I have grown, in life and in faith, I have gained a deeper appreciation for true friendship. And how true, and valuable are the words of the prophet Amos who asks “Can two walk together, except they be agreed?” (Amos 3:3).

 

When I think of the ideal friendship, I am always reminded of Ruth and Naomi.  Ruth’s husband was Naomi’s son. While they were connected by marriage, they were also dear friends. When her husband died, Ruth insisted on returning with Naomi to her home country of Israel. She did not want to lose the friendship she had in Naomi; she cherished their fellowship and so she made it known that “where you go, I go”. They were faithful one to another. There was peace and joy, both women were blessed with, in their relationship.

 

To this day I thank God daily, of the sweet friends He has brought into my life. In fact those I call friends are also precious family to me. I heard it said once that a sorrow shared is halved, but a joy shared is doubled”. It reminds me of Proverbs 27:10 that says, “Thine own friend, and thy father’s friend, forsake not; neither go into thy brother’s house in the day of thy calamity: for better is a neighbour that is near than a brother far off.”

 

True friends are precious. And with time their value only increases. As Proverbs 27:9 says, “Ointment and perfume rejoice the heart: so doth the sweetness of a man’s friend by hearty counsel..”

 

Let us reach out with a heart full of gratitude and love to those sweet friends we have today! ❤

This is part of a fun series of posts I am joining Lynn in, from This Day Has Great Potential, various Bible topics.  Come Link up with us:
This Day Has Great Potential
Scripture and Snapshot
Leave a Reply

