Are We Ready to get Back to School?

I did it again.

I signed up to blog in the Schoolhouse Review Crew and the Homeschool Blogging Connection’s Back To Homeschool Blog Hop. YAY!?!?!?

Problem is….I am not sure i am ready….to blog about or to go, “Back to School”

A couple friends  and family have enquired as to when we officially “start back to school?” Really, we consider ourselves to be year round homeschoolers, but we break now and then, who doesn’t? And truthfully summer ends up slowing us down. A lot. So when are we officially going back?”

I don’t know. But I do know that we do this, because God calls us to it and so whatever we need to endure to the end, He will provide. I know that now is the time for me to really hunker down and reflect a bit more on the how and the why. With a three month old (darling!) baby too, this year is going to be a bit more challenging for all of us. Yet God never gives us more than we can manage; He provides for our needs in every season, if we simply have faith and desire for His will to be done.

Of course there is still plenty I just must do. Like get organized. I actually have a huge mess all over my living rom right now because I have been trying to organize our materials for this year. Maybe its not the best way, but for me, to take it all out, spread it out where I can see it all ~ I can then go ahead and pile the books up for my three kiddos. Of course we still leave lots of wiggle room. Nothing is perfect, it took some time for us to realize that, but suffice to say, if one thing isn’t working, we move on to the next. There are plenty of good materials out there (ranging from really expensive to totally free!) so I just need to take the time to seek them out.

I ponder right now exactly how to organize our days, so that all three of my kiddos (and my baby girl too) won’t experience any awful anxiety or pressure in how we do “school”.  Have I ever mentioned how much I just do not like that word, school? lol Maybe its just me but it conjures up a sense of dread in my soul. Education, life, learning, experience….I perhaps need to use these words more often. May be that can even alter the attitude of my oldest (who dreads any form of work right now).  And this momma who dreads the “fight” that comes from him so many days.

I love home education though. I would not trade it for anything. On our best day it is a blessing and even on our worst of days it still is a blessing to our family. I encourage you to come alongside us as we all go “Back to School”.  No matter where you are at in your journey, I pray you will find something here that blesses you, that inspires you, that builds you up and gives you strength. Let’s face it, we cannot do this alone; we need to walk alongside each other because while homeschool is such a joy, such a gift , it is also hard. It is tiring and frustrating. There are days we want to throw that towel in, and that is when we need one another most. Because this is something you have to have great faith to do. And without God, at the center of it all, it just won’t work.

So let us come together, and reason together, in this great journey!

Back-to-Homeschool-Blog-Hop

Come on by tomorrow, and hopefully I will be starting to get “back-to-homeschool” (ready or not here we come)!  There are plenty of other bloggers joining in for this “back to homeschool” this week, so be sure to check them all out. If you need some inspiration, help with planning and organizing, if you are new to this, you will find lots of goodies to inspire you and get those engines revving!  Grab a cup of coffee, or tea, and go and check out some of these wonderful bloggers!!

Leave a Reply

