We’re Still Reading….

I am sad to say I have not had the time I would like for reading this summer. That said, I have a couple goodies to share with you that we have manage to read 🙂

 

 

I admit it, summer is one of those times that I really struggle to enjoy. There is so much to do; winters in Wisconsin are long and cold so its a great time to read. And while I love to go for a hike or walking/rising with my kids, enjoying the outdoors, I do miss that time reading, aloud and on my own.  Reading is such a passion of mine. Are you reading a bit less right now too?

 

 

Sorry I’m Not Sorry: An Honest Look at Bullying.  Written by bestselling author Nancy Rue, this is one of the books in the Mean Girl Makeover trilogy which focus on various character issues.  In this book we explore the bully, the victim, and the bystander and see the solid biblical solutions to bullying for young girls. This tells the story of Kylie Steppe, former queen bee of Gold Country Middle School, also once a bully. We see her path from bullying to expulsion from school and into a mandatory counseling program.  Certainly it is a challenge to understand why a bully does what they do. Without understanding how can we help them to grow and change? Sorry I’m Not Sorry shows girls that they hold the power to stop bullying through mutual understanding and acts of love.  When I chose this book to review I had no idea this was part of a trilogy, I honestly thought this was a book written on bullying and how to handle it if you are being bullied. This book is about the person doing the bullying while the first book “So Not Ok” is written from the bystander’s point of view, and “You Can’t Sit with Us” is written from the victims view. The author does a great job of portraying bullying as it relates to our youth today; I really like how the series shares varying points of view too. The author really strives to show you how the bully comes to be to be.  I believe this book along with the others would be an excellent teaching tool for young girls specifically. I like that the author chose to share Christian ways to face this problem and help girls see that you don’t have to a bully or the victim of one. 🙂

 

 

My oldest is a very reluctant reader but he loves reading about history and battles.  So we were really excited to have the chance to review Submarines, Secrets and a Daring Rescue. I admit I did not realize until after we received the book that it was the second book in the American Revolutionary War Adventure series, but it was still a great read. And we are definitely getting the first book in this series. As you read you journey through history with twins Ambrose and John Clark who find themselves volunteering for a mission to help the United States, newly formed. The boys help to transport gunpowder to the patriots and in an edge of your seat, dangerous, mission, to man one of the first submarines and later, having to rescue an older brother in a prison break. This is an exciting book, which my boys loved reading (as I read aloud to them).  I love how at the end there are extensive notes about what really historically happened, which characters were real people, a great way to bring the story to life and make it that much more real for younger ones!  Cannot wait for more of these!

 

 

 

Until My Name is Known is book 1 in the series, Tell of My Kingdom’s Glory.  I love reading in the Old Testament; this is the greatest love story ever written after all. The history is so rich, the story so deep. The author does an amazing job of bringing the Book of Exodus to life too in this story! Although this is a fictional re-telling of what could have happened, the author provides a strongly researched tale with a real sense of authenticity She shares the tale of Moses as an adult, a man facing a great task while feeling terribly incapable.  A great reminder that God qualifies those He calls.  I love how at the back of the book there are a plethora of resources too: a map, glossary, and a great list of books to reference. This really brought to life, and made much more personal, the experience of Moses and the Exodus.  This is a beautiful retelling of the Biblical story, fairly sound scripturally without too many liberties being taken (as so often seems to happen in Biblical fiction of this sort). This gives a fresh perspective to so much, such as the question, “Will anyone seek God, if he doesn’t know he needs God?”  It is also a constant reminder of the faithfulness of God to His people. As they carried Joseph’s bones out of Egypt. “God heard the desire of a man and granted it four hundred and twenty years later. ” Precious thoughts and promises!

 

How about a nice devotional? Its hard, I admit it, getting any time in lately when it comes to prayer and the Word.  SO I truly appreciate a devotional that is fairly rooted in scripture. 5 Minutes with Jesus is such a blessing to me right now; sometimes all I have is five minutes with Him. Tis the season right? This to shall pass. Anyway, this little book is so full of simple, yet deep, thoughts that inspire us to spend as much time as we can at His feet each day. Its a reminder of how blessed we are and how much clearer we can see when that time is made. There are only 50 readings; I have this on my kindle and whenever I can each day, I read, always seeing such relevance to the scriptures and even the lessons included in each days reading.  Joy!

 

 

There are so many amazing stories of women in the Bible; do we sometimes gloss over them? Do we remember that we, daughters of the King, are also greatly valued? I have been reading God’s Beloved Daughters: Daily Discovering the Blessings.  This is like a devotional and Bible study all in one. “Each day offers an opportunity to practice our ambassadorship and extend God’s love. We awake each morning to love God, to serve Him and continue to be loved and known by Him… Walk out in that carefree graciousness that will compel the world to take a closer look at what makes you different. “I don’t know what she’s got,” they will say, “‘but I want it.”   Are we living like that? I know it is perhaps my greatest desire; to live like that I mean. Encourage yourself to be more like those women who are in the pages of the Bible. They are after all there as examples to us; we can learn so much from studying their stories. While there are some theological issues, I could not overlook within the pages of this book, there is still much to be gained if you can read this in a discerning way. Even the errors that I found in her theology, reminded me that in in trials and tribulations we are to see these things, all, as blessings. May we walk ever nearer to our Lord and Savior.

 

 

Then there is this great Bible study book and DVD called Israel’s Mission. I love Bible studies. Even if I don’t have as much time in them as I would like.  This one is like a visit to Israel 🙂 Each DVD lesson is about 30 minutes in length, and very captivating too! Journey through Israel as you study the Bible. Talk about breathing life into scripture. To see the land; this really makes the lessons so much more powerful!  Each lesson begins with “Opening Thoughts” from Ray and then the Discovery Guide which encourages you to think on what you learned and determine how it is to be applied in our lives. This is full of fascinating facts, photos and history!  There are also recommended ways to lead for small groups, and Points to Ponder, followed by the Faith Lesson, additional discussion, and ending with a closing, for memorization. This is five days worth of study  Easy to do 🙂

The historical details within this study really help to make this bible study that much more impressive;  this is the first study I have seen from Vander Laan, and it definitely won’t be the last!  As a homeschooling family too, the historical details are excellent for studies of the Middle East and Biblical history itself. I see many great ways to use this and grow in our walk with God.

 

You can even view the teaching here:

 

 

 

Blessings! Let s come and reason together. And read for fun too!

Leave a Reply

