Shut It!

I’m not much of a talker. In fact I firmly believe you but if we don’t have anything to say, we shouldn’t say anything at all.

On the other hand when I do I open my mouth sometimes I can’t shut it. And sometimes I think that I maybe shouldn’t? Some days it’s being too honest, other day is as much as I am ashamed to admit it, he’s letting my emotions get the best of me. 
whatever it is I know that the Bible has so much to say about my mouth and I words.
Proverbs 10:12-13 says hatred stirs up conflict but love covers all sins. Wisdom is found on the lips of the discerning.
Certainly I want wisdom to be on my lips.I mean life and dad are in the power of the tongue. What we say matters and not just now but eternally too.

Our words sometimes start small but oh it’s a distraction that can come from them. I think of my children who is so easily will yell “I don’t like you” and sometimes when they are really going at it “shut up stupid”.  
We are studying the book of James this year for our churches Bible quizzing program.  As always God’s timing is so good. At a time when I am trying to teach my children and myself to how to tame our tongues. The tongue is so small and seems so insignificant yet it’s amazing how much damage it can do.  
We must understand that righteous and evil words cannot come from arm house. In fact we are told our sins will find us out.  As I said before sometimes I talk too much and other times I guess I don’t say the right things. I speak my mind to freely perhaps.
Did you know that words like tongue, talk, speak, words, mouth, and silence are used over 3500 times in the Bible?   Could it be anymore obvious how much these things matter to our God?
It is said that the mouth speaks what is in the heart.
So when we have a problem with our words, it’s ultimately a problem with our heart and our mind. I know I want nothing more than to use my words in ways that honor God. 
Now I know that many people say what we do and say shows how much time we are spending with God each day. It is true. It is how we care for our heart and mind. After all we put in must come out. And there is nothing that can cleanse us and make us pure like time with Him. We are even told to pray without ceasing. To be mindful of Him and His still small voice throughout our day.
Easier said than done right? My four kids don’t sleep in. And no matter how I try I just cannot be an early bird. But that cannot be my excuse for not taking the time that I need to each day.
Each day His mercies are new and we have to choose to use our words of life. To use words that encourage others, to speak truth in love. I pray each day that I will pause before I speak, but I will be bold enough to speak even when I do not wish to. 
I Think of how powerful it is, are being filled with the Holy Ghost and speaking in other tongues, it’s our sacrifice, giving ourselves completely over to him. Even our mouth. There is a reason that he chose tongues as a sign that he has filled us with His Spirit. It’s his Seal that we belong to Him! 
I pray today that what comes forth will be sweet, but it will be encouraging to those in need. Me each word that comes to my heart and my mind be that which is pleasing to Him. May my words  glorify Him, honor Him, show the love and mercy that He so graciously gives to every one of us.
May all of us speak words that give life!
  

Leave a Reply

