What More Do We Need?

I don’t understand some folks. Why is it we need people like Sarah Young, Joel Olsteen, Beth Moore, Joyce Meyers (do I go on?) to feel good about His word?  I admit it, I am a purist. As much as possible anyway. I stick with my Geneva and my King James – No other “version” for me.

I keep a concordance handy; I strive to study Greek and Hebrew as I can. I don’t say that to give the impression I am smarter or better than anyone else – I have a hunger though for the truth. I don’t want anything but the truth. Half a truth will not set me free; a partial truth will not bring me joy or peace. HIs truth will free me! It can free you too.

 

Why do we tolerate and go to these false prophets, with their false gospels? Why can the Word, the pure Word of God, not be enough for us?  I cannot imagine Paul or Peter or Mary seeking out another to tell them what His word said about something. I cannot fathom them looking past the One with the answer, for something better or easier. They knew the Word and the truth and they never once needed a different version.  If they did not understand, they had faith in His timing. If they needed an answer, they sought God through prayer and fasting.

 

Consider 1 Kings 13: There was one prophet, a man of God who lied to another; the second was deceived and died because he listened to the prophet, who lied, and put aside what God had said! How many are listening to these voices and putting aside God’s word and using others that seek to inspire rather than speaking the WORD OF GOD?  It not about how it makes us feel but about what is true.

 

I am so tired of people sharing these tidbits that they say is “God’s word for them” ~ How soon so many are deceived…The Word of God is pure. It is true. The Word was God and is God. Do we really believe HIs word or is it something we just say? And if we believe it, if we are led by His Spirit, why do we need anything more than His Spirit and the Bible to understand and get the answers we need.

 

There are two sides in this, we cannot forget that there are many voices that speak to us – Can we please get wisdom, get understanding and discern His voice from all of the other ones out there?  We cannot allow ourselves to be distracted, we cannot allow ourselves to be too busy for study of the Word, for prayer.  We must, in these dark days, give ourselves wholly and fully, to Him. Seeking Him in all things.

 

Are we seeking out devotionals?  Books like The Message, even the ESV and NIV versions that are not really HIs word at all but merely man’s interpretation of His Word (which the scriptures say is not for any private interpretation)?  Have faith, be patient, wait on the Lord and keep His way – He will give us all we need to know as we need to know it. It is far too dangerous, in so many ways, to seek out answers from those who do not have the truth and are not filled with His Spirit born again believers.

 

 

Be wise…Be discerning….Know His word – if His word is not enough to inspire and motivate you … you have some bigger problems which no devotional is going to solve!!

(said in love)

Leave a Reply

