Why Celebrate?

I didn’t grow up in a Christian home. There was no religious training in our home at all. In fact, there was more of a disgust and disdain for it. So needless to say, I have always really struggled with celebrating these hoidays that are upon us. I found it odd, as I got older too, that those I knew who were Christian would tell me how they were “in the world but not of the world” and then go and celebrate holidays that the whole world partook in. It baffled me. Then I became involved in the occult. I began to see the depths of darkness within these days; the pagan origins. I remember being so frustrated with “the church” being against us pagans but being willing to take our celebrations and make them their own.  I often wondered in fact, how and why, so many could take part in holiday that honored something that they did not truly believe in themselves.  It baffled me when I was a child and honestly it still does today.

 

 

We are in the world but no of the world. We are separate, called out; we are to look and do things differently than people in the world. After all, how shall they know that we are His, if we look and do the same things they do?

 

I guess its one reason I am such a big advocate for homeschool, for Jewish holy days, for wearing skirts/dresses and not cutting hair…..these are things that can be vital cues to others that we are different. We have a way, a hope, in us that is unlike anything else.

 

 

Deuteronomy 12:30-32: “. . . Do not inquire after their gods, saying, ‘How did these nations serve their gods? I also will do likewise.’ You shall not worship the LORDyour God in that way . . . Whatever I command you, be careful to observe it; you shall not add to it nor take away from it”

 

I admit it, I am in that camp that says you cannot put Jesus back in Christmas because He was never really there to begin with. I know some will think I am being legalistic here, but I honestly would rather do more, take His Word more seriously, than not living it enough. After all, what does this world have to offer? What can compare to eternity, to His approval, in the end?

 

 

Sure I am somewhat biased (my husband says) perhaps because of my upbringing. But I believe, I know, that every word in the Bible has a purpose and all things not within those pages, they do not really matter. I see the pressure everyone falls into right about now; shopping and rushing here and there. I know some do truly enjoy this season – I admit to part of me enjoying the lights and the smell of all those trees (especially burning them in our fire pit – hehe)  but I simply cannot see where any of this is Biblical.  None of these things have anything to do with Him, but they do have a lot to do with ancient pagan festivals.  (Holidays or Holy Days: Does It Matter Which Days We Keep? )

 

 

If we truly want to celebrate the Lord, His birth and death and resurrection, let us do so every day. Not with gifts and decorated trees and lights (although He IS the light of the world) but let us do so by honoring Him daily in word and deed. 🙂

 

 

The apostle Paul even talks about whether or not unbiblical religious customs and practices have any place in the worship of God saying:

 

“What fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? And what accord has Christ with Belial [the devil and/or demons]? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever? And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God . . .

“Therefore ‘Come out from among them and be separate, says the Lord. Do not touch what is unclean, and I will receive you.’ ‘I will be a Father to you, and you shall be My sons and daughters, says the LORD Almighty.’ Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God” (2 Corinthians 6:14-18; 2 Corinthians 7:1).

 

 

Can we have truth? Half a truth is still a lie so ought we not to ask, are we worshiping as we are commanded?  Jesus says His true followers “must worship in spirit and truth” John 4:24?

 

I pray that whatever you may partake in this season, you do so earnestly seeking truth!  May the beauty of this season be a joy to you; may He show Himself strongly in your walk and direct your feet. Be blessed ❤

 

 

Without truth there is no LOVE, for it is by “the love of the truth” that the saved are distinguished from the lost. “And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in those who perish; because they received not the love of the truth that they might be saved.” And it is only as we speak “the truth in love that we grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ.” Thus “the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness, and righteousness, and truth;” and this in the Person of the Son of God, for “grace and truth came by Jesus Christ.”

J.C. PHILPOT

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Why Celebrate?

  1. I grew up in a dutch home where my parents carefully separated “Christmas” from “the birth of Christ”. We really DON”T know when Jesus was born so celebrating his birth and with that the hope of his return makes just as much sense to do at Christmas then it does at any other time of the year, but the point is to keep the focus separate. And it can be hard to do. Can the world overtake that? YES. but does that mean we should stop pondering and waiting for his return and finding a time to celebrate that? in this household, No. But we each have our own convictions on that right?

    I am.. Annette @ A net in time.

Leave a Reply

