Be Meek and Quiet…..Really?!?!

1 Peter 3:4 says, “but let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.”

It is my understanding that the word meek means mild, not easily provoked or irritated, when mistreated to be forbearing.
Quiet by definition means to be still, peaceful, calm, not troubled.

I read these and I shutter because this is something I really struggle with. While I love quiet I do not think I am truly quiet. Of course I am not loud but neither is my nature One which is meek or quiet. And this troubles me because it seems that a meek and quiet spirit is of great importance in our walk.

It seems the only time I can truly be meek and quiet is when I am sleeping. When I am awake? I am A react tour. Whatever the circumstance may be, I quickly respond. And it’s not always pretty.

Yet to be truly meek and quiet in spirit means to stay calm and peaceful on the inside and on the outside no matter the disturbance about us. It is that spirit that doesn’t respond immediately but is able to wait in faith. Keeping our mouths and our minds still as well.

This isn’t easy but of course anything that’s worth having is never going to be easy. It’s a battle that needs to be font daily. It’s something that I need to be intentionally aware of. Every moment of my day. Training my children that they learn to have a meek and quiet spirit and to respond in a way that is pleasing to God.
How I need to remember when my children are fighting. How I need to pray when it is too loud around me. How important it is to seek his will win in a place that is disturbing. How powerful it can be if we show our children what it looks like to be godly no matter how they may disobey.  Whatever the situation may the words of our mouth and the meditation of our hearts be that which is acceptable in the sight of the Lord.

Sound impossible? It’s a good thing but we have a great God who reminds us that all things are possible with Him.

 

 

 

“Lord, make me beautiful, beautiful to you. Clothe me with a gentleness and quietness like you. I want to laugh at days to come because I’m trusting you. Clothe me in compassion and patience that’s from you. Lord, make me beautiful, beautiful to you. Clothe me with your righteousness, humility and you. I want to be as Sarah was, obedient and true. Clothe me with the beauty that only comes from you.(Tirzah Joy) A prayer for all my sisters:”

Leave a Reply

