Blogging Through the Alphabet — I is for “Intentional”

 
This is Week 9 of this series, so everyone is sharing posts themed about the letter “I”.  I myself chose to share about what it means to be intentional as I recently read an amazing book called Intentional Parenting.

 

One of the very first sentences I read in that book, really got me thinking. It spoke of how in Ezekiel 20:22 God spoke of the Israelites, saying, “Nevertheless I withdrew mine hand, and wrought for my name’s sake, that it should not be polluted in the sight of the heathen, in whose sight I brought them forth.”  It goes on to read: “The normal, daily moments of parenting take us to the ends of ourselves, and we respond less out of who we are and more out of what we feel. Being an intentional parent simply means I’m growing toward responding more out of who I am, who God made me to be, than out of how I feel.”

 

And then the question is asked, why did I decide to become a parent?

 

I have to chuckle a bit when I read this because my oldest was quite a surprise; we did not really plan to become parents. We were not in the church, neither of us was living for or looking for Christ in our lives. I remember being sure that my life was over; being a mom meant everything was going to change. And while I didn’t have all of that “new mom” joy and excitement over the birth of our first child, I knew that this was big. And if we were going to do this we had to do it right. And as the years passed by and I learned and was born again, a new creation in Christ, I determined even more, to be intentional in all that I did.

 

1 Timothy 4:12-15 says:

Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

Till I come, give attendance to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine.

Neglect not the gift that is in thee, which was given thee by prophecy, with the laying on of the hands of the presbytery.

Meditate upon these things; give thyself wholly to them; that thy profiting may appear to all.

 

 

Its about being intentional in all that we do.

 

As I ponder my life, I realize that this is one thing I need to do more of. To be intentional in my relationship with God. Intentional in my relationships as a mother and wife and keeper of the home.

 

When I searched for the definition of the word, Merriam-Webster, stated that intentional is something done by intention or design; an activity done with a specific purpose in mind.

 

Shouldn’t we all want to be intentional in our life? Is this not another way to show the fruit of a life made new by the Lord Jesus Christ?

 

 

I want to see others the way that God sees them.

 

I want to love them like Jesus.

 

I want to hear from Him more, talking less.

 

I want more of His presence in my life.

 

I want my walk to be deeper; my faith made stronger.

 

I want to not go to church but be the church.

 

No doubt. No hesitation.

 

I want to be so full of His light and love that all I do proclaims Him!

 

Let us be intentional in ALL things

 

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men  (Colossians 3:23)

 

2 thoughts on “Blogging Through the Alphabet — I is for “Intentional”

  1. Great reminder! We recently had a marriage class that used verses you usually don’t think of for marriage but more for our relationships with others with the point that shouldn’t we use the same guidelines for interacting with our partner that we do for those we have less intimate relationships with? Parenting would be the same. It made me think of that when you were talking about being intentional.

  2. I read that verse from Colossians somewhere else recently, and it impressed upon me that my parenting, my marriage, and everything else I do should be done with my best effort. Giving my best efforts is my way of being intentional.

Leave a Reply

