Set Your Affections

This morning I read in Colossians 3:2: Set your affection on things above, not on things on this earth.

 

It reminded me of a conversation I had with a friend not long ago. We were talking about our homes and the struggles we were having in keeping them. Anyway she pointed out that my family lives in our home. There are many of us who spend a great deal of time within the walls of this home. We study and we play and we bake and we learn it and we live in these walls. She pointed out that my perspective needs to change because while all I often see is the mess all about me, I forget to see the smiles on my children’s faces and they giggles as they play joyfully together. I hear them being lowered, sometimes fighting other times just making joyful noise and I wish they would be quiet instead of being glad that they are so happy to be home and to be together. She reminded me that instead of worrying about the things of this life, we need to put more time into those things that are eternal.

 

 

 

 

I get discouraged sometimes by how lived in our home really looks. I tend to shy away from hospitality because frankly are home often looks like a tornado blew through it. When I clean the house it only stays that way if we leave the house. And how can we possibly really learn and live and never be home?

 

I strive to set my mind on eternal things and not on the temporary things of this world. Because I want my children to remember their mom someone was happy and relaxed, who enjoyed watching them play and listening to their happy sounds.

 

The truth is we all make messes sometimes. It’s part of how create and learn and produce. Perhaps instead of focusing on the mass I can focus on the experience and opportunity that comes from that mess.

 

 

Did you know that the word affection used in Colossians 3:2 actually refers to what is really important to you. So what do I set my affection on? Is it eternity or temporary?

 

 

Let us be mindful always that the time which we put into our children, it matters more than we can imagine. We may not always see the fruit of our labors but we need just continue to work as for the Lord Being patient and faithful in all things!

Leave a Reply

