Dirty Hearts ~ Clean Hearts 

I love Psalm 51​, especially verse 10 which reads, “Create in me a clean heart O God, and renew a right spirit within me.”

 

I woke up in a bad mood today. I had a throbbing headache and my throat was sore. We were out late last night with my husband. He and the boys were watching the football game. And even though we were up so late last night, as I’m sure you can imagine, all four children were up bright and early ready to go!

 

My younger son with six was kind enough to make me a pot of coffee this morning. What a blessing! But it still didn’t quite do the trick. It’s cold outside and it was snowing pretty hard. Beautiful to look at but no good for when I have a day that I planned to run errands.

 

 

Well my boys were watching a show and eating breakfast I decided to get into my Bible. Read the word. Because I know that only God can renew a right spirit in me. Only God can clean my heart. I must seek him.

 

As I read and as I prayed I realized that there was much to repent of. Not just those things that I say but those things that I think what I am so crabby. And since this year our churches Bible quizzing team is spending a great amount of time in the book of James, I admit I am often finding myself seeking God more and asking him to wash me and her new me more and more.

 
I see I need to stop and pray whenever there is a problem. When my children are being disobedient or when they are just being children I need to stop and pray for His direction. I must remember to remain humble in all times

 

 

Even on our most challenging of days I have to remember to remain humble. Because I don’t have all the answers but I know someone who does. And it’s only through his strength but I can do this. So each day I must remember to humble myself in the sight of the Lord and he will lift me up.

 

Leave a Reply

