How Many Hats Do You Wear?

Luke 10:41-42 (KJV)

 

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

 

 

 

 

I have a really hard time with being consistent. I admit it. There are so many things I want to learn and do. Places I want to explore, experiences I want to have with my family.

 

 

I have so many nice little lists and pretty print outs of ideas for things to do for our home education, family fun and devotion and for myself.  I get so caught up in all of that I fear I start things and rarely finish. Or I create too many binders and folders of lovely ideas that only collect dust about our house.

 

 

Too often I put more on my plate than I should and then when I am overwhelmed (by myself, no one else) I don’t get a thing done. I need to manage my time. I need to prioritize.  I need to be consistent in the goals that I set for myself.

 

 

How can I expect my kids to follow through on things when they see their mother constantly starting new things without finishing the old?

 

 

I think of my list of goals – I have a shelf of books I want to finish reading; a sewing machine my husband got for me to make some skirts for my daughters and myself. Knitting and crochet materials; needlepoint kits for my daughter to learn.  We have a fun 3D puzzle we want to build too.

 

 

 

Then there are those things that “need” to be done each day (so says me Lol) like math and reading and writing. There are meals to make, snacks to put together, cleaning and keeping of the home, organizing rooms….Trying to manage special meals for my oldest who struggles with attention, impulsivity, focus ~ super sensory, on the go and can’t stop…So I strive to try helping him manage all of that with essential oils, diets and whatever else I manage to find that may help him (and me!).

 

 

 

Yet I read that pass in Luke and I KNOW, no doubts, I need to choose that things which is most needful. I need to spend more time at His feet.  My children need more time at His feet.  There is nothing more important than hearing from the Lord; only He can truly refresh us and give us those things that we truly need. And lets face it, I know that I am probably not the one who knows best what I really need.

 

 

So I honestly must ask myself, do I seek Hi will in my days? Do I look to Him first when I am overwhelmed and stressed out? When my plate is full and I am wearing a dozen hats all at the same time, do I stop and listen for Him to direct my path?

 

 

Lord let me be faithful to you that your Word will be the light to my path!

Leave a Reply

