Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ J is for Joy 

Can you believe we are already into week 10 of Blogging Through the Alphabet?  How time flies right?

 

 

When I decided to be a part of the One Word Challenge for this year it didn’t take me
long to choose my word for the year.  It was simply spoken to me, “The JOY of the Lord is your strength”; since I have not been feeling so strong lately, I knew this was it. And that word was joy. (just in case you didn’t figure it out for yourself Lol)

 

 

 

“A wise woman sets a joyful mood in her home. Through laughter, music, and happy times, she creates a positive attitude and her children. She knows that a lighthearted home relieves her husband of stress.” (Debi Pearl)

 

 

Proverbs 15:13 says “A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.”

 

 
Did you know that the word joy is found in the Bible 167 times? Did you know that it is often used along with words like shouting, music, playing instruments, gladness, Praise, dancing?

 

 

 

Proverbs 15:15 tells us that “All the days of the afflicted are evil but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.”

 

 

 

I was reading the other day about how important it is for us, as moms, to show our joy. In a way that is real and tangible for our children. This made me stop and think because, truthfully, I know I may not always look like a joyful person. My more introverted nature leads me to often looking less than happy perhaps. I suppose, if I were I child, I would see myself as someone serious, somber and not a lot of fun. (If I am totally transparent here).  I need to become more intentional (didn’t I just blog about that recently too?) in showing and sharing joy!

 

 

 

 

Perhaps I should start counting how many times I smile each day. Or have my children count my smiles for me! Perhaps we need to spend a lot more time singing and dancing around the house; I do recall a time when there was always music in the house. We had so much fun; we embraced our days and took joy in one another.  So shall we do once again. I shall intentionally make music in the home; we shall sing and dance about as we fold that laundry and dust and do the floors.  And joyfully doing so, it shall be done unto the Lord, as it all ought to be.

 

 

Let us practice joy every day. As we intentionally seek out ways to show and share our joy, how the Lord surely will bless us and grow us. Be fruitful, He says. How can we be fruitful if we cannot grow those fruits which He says we are to have? Let us be thankful and content in all things; and we shall be a cheerful giver~

3 thoughts on “Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ J is for Joy 

  1. JOY is what I have been praying for, for a while. I don’t want it to be something I have to work or strive for, I want it to be a natural out flowing of my relationship with God! Thanks for reminding me to keep on praying for JOY!

Leave a Reply

