Aren’t We Rich?

1 Timothy 6:17 (KJV)

Charge them that are rich in this world, that they be not highminded, nor trust in uncertain riches, but in the living God, who giveth us richly all things to enjoy;

 

 

My boys were talking the other day, telling me about all the grand things they will do, when they are rich one day. We have been learning about money, stewardship, economics (as fits a 6 and 10 year old boy). And since we have this system in place, where our boys can earn a bit of money by “working” around the house, they have really taken to the idea of having money that is their own. For them to do with as they please.

 

 

 

 

I had to ask the other day, why money matters. My boys know that it is needed to have a place to live and food to eat, clothes to wear. If you want a car, you need to be able to take care of it and buy gas. They also see money as a way to get all the legos and snap circuits and nerf guns they can want. And one day, I am told, they will have a house full of legos and nerf guns and bows….Lol

 

 

 

 

Its a sense of security so many get from money. Other things too. But we forget, and my boys and I talked of this as well, that the greatest security is found in Christ. Do we have that peace and joy within? Not that of the world but that sense that is eternal and supernatural; that we know is from Him alone?

 

 

 

Often in church we sing:

 

“Every time I lift my hands it’s because of You.
Every time I lift my voice it’s because of You.
Every time I give You praise it’s because of You.
Every time I bless your name it’s because of You.

It’s because of You that I sing.
It’s because of You that I pray.
It’s because of You that I worship and bow down to Your name everyday.
It’s because of You that I dance.
It’s because of You that I shout.
It’s because of You that I leap for joy with a heart that has no doubt.”

 

 

 

We have a greater strength; we have a surety like no other. We can be free because we know His name; because we have been born again into His Kingdom and we know that there is so much greater for us not of this world. While it is certainly good for us to be eager and willing to work with our hands; we read how the Word clearly states if you wish to eat you ought to work. Yet we still must remember to be wise in this; we must remember who our provider truly is. It is not our employer, the paycheck is not the answer. These are but gifts from God, sent to provide for those needs we have. Because He, Jehovah JIreh, is our provider. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

May we always remember that God “giveth richly all things to enjoy.”

Leave a Reply

