I Don’t Make the Bed

I was so excited when these books arrived! There is something to be said for having a home that gives life to others. If the desire that I have myself. For my small and crazy and loud but fun home to be a place where others can come and breathe the breath of life. And feel a peace and joy the comes only from the Lord.

image

We aren’t there yet but we will be God willing. In the meantime there are a variety of things I am using to help cultivate a home and a person, myself, that is life giving. That gives a sense of belonging and bec
oming for Christ.

There is much that I need to change in order to make this vision of my a reality though. And I was listening to a podcast this morning it became so clear that the biggest hurdle to cultivating and lovely and life-giving home is me. You see right now I don’t make my bed. That seems kind of silly right? For me to say that my home can not be one that is life-giving simply because I do not make my bed. But it goes so much deeper than that. I didn’t realize how deep until I heard someone else speak the words right out of my mouth.

I grew up understanding that there are things that smart people do and there are things that smart people shouldn’t have to do.  I am off and rationalize why I don’t make the bed or fold the blankets but we have about the house. I mean, the kids are just going to mess them up anyway. Whether they make forts with them or decide to jump on bed or practice some gymnastic it’s all going to be about later. So why bother?

I cannot believe but it never occurred to me how silly that exact line of thinking it. When I set up in my mind that there are things about the house silly and pointless to do whether it’s because I’m smart or because I have kids or because I just don’t like doing them, my mind has already sucked the life out of my home.

I do detest doing dishes and folding laundry. But if I see these things as blessings from the Lord, and if I see them as ways that I am serving the Lord and the family that he has blessed me with how I can change the atmosphere of my home. Because truthfully it doesn’t matter what we want to do, it doesn’t matter how we feel, and how is smart or not we are has nothing to do with serving the Lord. After all God himself says that he chose the foolish things of the world. So can we take joy in those things even though they seem foolish to us?

We have to cultivate life in our home. Especially if we want to cultivate life outside of at home.  We cannot so and read outside of our family and still be blessed by the Lord if we are neglecting our family or if we are serving our family with bitterness and hard. There is so much only God can show us of our hearts and our mind. And we need to pray, I need to pray, that he would show me this things that I may come to him and true repentance. Because truly it’s all about cultivating a life that without any words point them to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

