Whattcha Readin?

Its been awhile since I have shared some of the stuff that we’re eating around here. With all of us under the weather this week we have been doing a ton of reading too!

My daughter is 4 but she already love stories about animals, especially horses and ponies. So we were super excited to get this set of books for review!

image

 

 

My daughter could completely relate to the main character, Kate, having herself a desire to have a horse. This is the first of four in a series the chairs the joy of horses and friendship. I love the strong characters within these books, how they show the value of true friendship. It also models beautifully the ideal sibling relationships. There is so much more to this story though and horses and friends. There are lessons to be learned like truth telling, serving others and of the joy of showing kindness to one another. These are not only stories that are joyful to read and that can be enjoyed by the whole family but these are also excellent way to learn together how to have a good character.

 

 

image

 

This one truly inspired me! For some time before I came home to be with my children I worked with parents and children who had experienced the loss of a child. I always found their strength to be so very beautiful. This story, I can say, is so much more then I can begin to express in words. I was brought to tears as I read and followed along the path of healing and redemption told in these pages.  Such a beautiful reminder of how in times of suffering, trial and great pain God is not only with us but He is molding us. A purpose within the pain. A testimony at the end of the trial. He refines us. He is our strength and our joy even in times of trouble. This is an encouraging and beautiful story of the love of God and a testimonial that the joy does come in the morning.  There is such great power in faith. 🙂

 

 

image

 

We celebrate Passover in our home. Yet this was a wonderful addition to my daughter’s library. It was also a fun exercise for my oldest son, as we discussed the differences between Easter and Passover and did a study on what the Bible says we are to celebrate. All of us really enjoy watching the birds as they come and go about our house so this story was really enjoyed by all of my kids. How did the Robin get its red breast this is beautiful colorful illustrations and a wonderful lesson about faith and compassion. It’s recommended for ages four through eight but my 10 year old son really enjoyed this one as did I.

 

 

 

image

 

 

And then there is this one! Because I am the first to admit that I struggle to find peace in this crazy world! While I strive to not be a busy person at the same time I also acknowledge that my to do list can get a bit out of control at times. As a mom of 4 and a home educator it is certainly challenging to maintain a peaceful and purposeful home. Often as I was reading I felt like this was written just for me. This is practical and it’s gentle. Full of great wisdom that we all could use a bit of.  God calls us to serve but we are to do so with a joyful heart. When we are busy, running from one thing to the next, it sure is hard to show the serving heart, that God wants us to have. This book helps us see more clearly how to be all that we are called to be as we read and study and pray along our journey.

 

 

 

 

51vqjfnuval

 

 

Finding Roses in the Dust was an amazing read. Something I was curious about as I have always wondered about the Middle East. And here I was able to read, and feel as though I was there, in Afghanistan. Through the eyes of a fellow wife and mom. This is a powerful read and I am not just saying that. I absolutely loved this book and that was before reading, “You don’t HAVE to do this…You GET to do this!” I cannot tell you how often I say this to my children. And myself sometimes too!  This shares the real life experiences of living in Afghanistan. This really does enlighten you, and give you a new perspective on life. In a world where we take so much for granted; the more I read of this book the more I was sure I was seeing and learning how to see things from His point of view. This is a story of adventure and love, life and family, and faith most of all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So much to read and so little time! I hope you will share all that you are enjoying reading when you have a chance! :-

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

