When I Forget

5 Days of Tips for Homeschool ParentsI think there’s something in the air today. It’s been one of those days. And truly it became one of those days not long after we all rolled out of bed and had breakfast.

We didn’t even make it through our morning Bible reading. What’s a mama to do when the simplest of things causes great strain on us and on our children? Especially when suddenly everyone is uttering that phrase ” I don’t like you”

I don’t often refer to any of my children as gifted. I prefer to see them as the uniquely created beings God has entrusted me with. And today I don’t know why.  Yet i know that God designed me for this very task. There have been lots of tears today and tantrums and fighting between brothers and sister.  Add one teething baby…..

School as most know it is cancelled today. While I strive to be a mom that stresses the importance of reading and writing and math everyday at the same time some days it’s more important to keep our relationship with our children strong . When we feel like the decision to homeschool our children was the wrong one, when we no longer enjoy our time together, that’s when we need to take a break from all the hard work confined fun ways to learn.

image

These are the days that I remind myself that those things that are truly worth doing are never going to be easy. These are also the times that I remind myself that who the Lord calls he also equips.  We have to remember the source of our strength.

Psalm 105:4 says reminds us to ” look to the Lord and his strength, seek his face always.”

image

 

There is so much we can learn but many think doesn’t count as school at all. My kids all love to draw and write. They also love to make music and on days like this sometimes I think we just need to take a break and allow their energy to go in a different direction. I remind myself on days like this to trust God’s plan for my children because doesn’t the Lord have a purpose for every one of us?

 

image

 

Sometimes I think these days but I leave my children to their own devices there is more learning that happens then when I am in control.   It is in these times buffet table just follow those rabbit trails. When my younger son can explore outside and my oldest son can play around making music and doodling a bit. I get some snuggle time in with my youngest and even my older daughter enjoys being able to curl up and look through her picture books quietly. And it’s so natural for each of us to study what we are intrigued by at the time. The same time exercising I think those skills God has blessed us with.

It doesn’t all have to make sense and it doesn’t have to be just so. These days I am humbled and I am reminded that God is in control and it is his will not mine. When I feel like I just can’t do this or when I feel like things aren’t going the way I think they should I am reminded of Little David defeating the Giant Goliath.  I am reminded that Peter and Paul and Ruth and Esther, they were not born ready to do all those things that we read of them doing in the Bible. They were children once. They had to be taught and trained and molded. There was a time that they had to be prepared for they could do God’s work.

How thankful I am for God’s love and mercy and Grace. How I pray that he will allow me to walk nearer to him and my children too. I count myself so very blessed that the Lord has given me eyes that see and ears that are so desperate to hear. And I thank him for being a God of second and sometimes third and fourth chances.  How blessed are we that he does not forsake us the Lord’s love endures forever.  Today was a day that we all stumble and we all fell so very short yet it’s a reminder to of how important that is to seek the the Lord’s face always.

 

 

image

2 thoughts on “When I Forget

  1. I have had my share of days like this too, and I’m glad I’m not the only one. While I know my kids love each other, there are days we all get a little frustrated. And I agree that on those days a break is just what’s needed.

  2. We have had two of “those days” this week. And it is so hard to push on during those kinds of weeks. Taking a break is great but, unfortunately, not always practical so picking up a fun learning activity is a great plan. – Lori

Leave a Reply

