Homeschool Copywork: It’s More Than Just Handwriting Practice ~ A Schoolhouse Review

Homeschool Copywork Review

 

 

 

In this house handwriting is NOT a favorite activity; not even close to a tolerable activity. Its a struggle every day. My daughter (4) is learning her letters right now; my younger son (6) is struggling to read and write.  My oldest son (10) loves cursive but struggles with having neat and legible handwriting. What is the point of writing if you cannot read it? Now I admit, I heard of copywork and thought about giving it a whirl, but honestly I just didn’t see the value of it. Until I had the chance to review the Homeschool Copywork site. We received a Lifetime Membership to Homeschool Copywork which gives us access to an amazing variety of e-books for copywork as well as lots of great note booking pages. A couple of them cover things like Character Building, Dragons of the Bible, Vincent van Gogh Artist Study….And the list goes on and on! The more I scrolled through the more determined and excited I was to find a way to get my kids excited about all of this too.
image

 

 

“Copywork is not just about handwriting. Copywork is about spelling, punctuation, vocabulary, great ideas seeping into growing minds, reading skill and comprehension, and even thought leadership.  Your leadership, guiding your child’s thought life through carefully chosen verses and quotes in copywork.”

 

 
image

 

 

Charlotte Mason is seen as the very first champion of copywork:

 

 

“Children should transcribe favourite passages. ––A certain sense of possession and delight may be added to this exercise if children are allowed to choose for transcription their favorite verse in one poem or another…   But a book of their own, made up of their own chosen verses, should give them pleasure.”

 

 

We love Charlotte Mason!  Reading this was something that definitely made me more determined to use copywork in our days! What better endorsement could we have for something than out of the mouth of someone I consider to be a leader in home education. I have actually been trying to dig into more of Charlotte Mason’s methods this year; it’s all about being more intentional and really getting a good foundation in place. I see so much potential in copywork truly!  I am surprised, pleasantly, to find that this encompasses so much more than I imagined. As with anything else of course, this is something that needs to be a daily occurrence in order to see the best results. But that isn’t hard to do at all. Considering there are so many materials to choose from you can easily do science, music and art study, history, literature and lots more! This is even perfect to use for Bible study time with all the kids!
image

We dove right into this one! My daughter chose My Animal Alphabet Copywork; my 6 year old son was so excited about My Transportation Alphabet Copywork. And my oldest son chose Dragons in the Bible. I myself was happy to see the Character Training Copywork which all of my kids do, to some extent, throughout the week. We do so love studying the scriptures; I believe this is most important in training our children. Academics are definitely important but being people that know and live the Word? That is priceless 🙂

 

 

Copywork has changed us! It has changed how we do things. My children love to see quotes they have written from their copywork within books we are reading and especially Bible studies we do together. I do believe it has really helped them to be a bit more attentive maybe when we have read aloud time too. There were moments when my oldest son would notice that he copied some poetry of Robert Lewis Stevenson’s and here we are looking at a novel he wrote. Or for my younger two, the copying of simple words and letters helping them to make great strides in their progress learning to identify letters and read words. There is a detail that is learned from copying as we have been doing; I admit I have even pulled out some of these to copy myself! I mean, I love poetry, Emily Dickinson, and there are so many copy works in here that focus on God’s Word…~ This is truly precious to our homeschool~ She is always adding more too! So no matter where your kids interests lie or how old they are, there is something here for them to enjoy.

 

 
image

 

 

We really do love Homeschool Copywork! This is such a fun way to learn; its a great way to encourage independence in our older children too! There are so many e-books to choose from and all so full of wonderful things for our kids to learn. I do wish there was a bit more copywork for our early learners, my daughter just loves doing these but she is still in need of more simple worksheets (perhaps even some traceables would be nice)!  Regardless, we plan on using this membership for a lifetime! 🙂  The Lifetime Membership really is such a great value too! They do offer a One Year Membership but with the difference being what it is ($29.95 vs $45.00), I say just go for it! Also, you can subscribe to the newsletter and get some great freebies to see what its all about, if you aren’t sure this is for you. This really is such a great way for our children to learn grammar, handwriting, history, science and so much more!

 

 

Homeschool Copywork Review

Be sure to connect with Homeschool Copywork!

Facebook:  http://facebook.com/HomeschoolCopywork
Twitter: http://twitter.com/AmyBlevins  @AmyBlevins
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/hscopywork
Google+: http://plus.google.com/+AmyBlevins
Instagram: http://instagram.com/homeschoolencouragement

 

 

Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

