Why so Angry?

This morning I woke up with a quote on my mind. I could not remember who said it or where I read it I knew that I needed to find it. And find it I did!

Be prepared because this is a really hard one to read. I mean… this is quite the bitter pill to swallow and yet it is so powerful and so important for us to understand and embrace.

It says this:

“Being easily angered is an indicator that a hidden area of selfishness or insecurity is present where love is supposed to rule!”

See what I mean? And if you are anything like me this really packs a punch for you. I don’t like to admit it but I struggle with this. Some days a lot more than others. And I have my excuses, don’t we all, like how if the kids would just stop fighting or if everyone could just lower the volume a bit.  If he could only put his dishes in the dishwasher. If someone would help me around the house just a bit…..

You see where I’m going. The excuses really could go on and on but it doesn’t make it ok. In fact as I was reading in my Bible the other day it really impacted me how God placed the women in the home to care for it and to keep it. The woman. My husband even mentioned the other day how the husband is the head of the family but truly the woman is the head of the home. Our family and our home is a gift from the Lord. It is for us to grow and care; us alone.

image

Now certainly I am not saying that our husbands and our children cannot learn to pick up and to help around the house. Certainly as a family it’s important for us to all work together. But ultimately the responsibility for the home is the woman’s.  I know it’s not a popular thing to say. I don’t like to say it myself since I have never been a fan of house work. Dishes and laundry, scrubbing toilets and floors….no way!

And I guess that is part of my struggle when it comes to my home and being easily angered. There are things that I want to do. And they are selfish things. It matters not that they have to do with the pursuit of knowledge or further study in the word of God. I can have all the good purpose in the world with how I spend my free time and I can say that all I do is for God’s glory but honestly if it isn’t the work that God has called me to do it simply doesn’t matter. There are seasons for every one of us and it is not for me to make the season I am in it my own desires.

I think of an old saying that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. And in so many ways that is such a spot on statement.  Even in the church. We all want to do great works for God and I think sometimes we chase after God and forget about those nearest to us. We are only given so much time. Our selfish desires…we should know from that alone… they are not the Lord’s will for us. And yet still we struggle and we say things like” God hasn’t convicted me of that”  we make so many excuses. Rather than humbling ourselves and acknowledging that our desire is for something other than that which He has for us.  My anger, my shortness with my children and my husband, it is not as God would have it.

image

I’m reminded of how powerful God is and how weak I really am that something so simple as an emotion I cannot control on my own. How simple it is to cast this at the Lord’s feet and just sit before him and ask that He root out the bitterness and the selfishness, to remove those desires from my heart which are not His and that He place those desires within my heart that are His.

Let me desire to serve as the Lord served and continues to serve. Today I am going to use those diaper changes in the cleaning up of those spells around the house, I will use the fighting and the craziness and the noise to glorify God for the life that surrounds me and to take enjoy in His creation.

Leave a Reply

