The League and the Lantern Review

My oldest son is a very reluctant reader. We take regular visits to the library 0nly to bring home a couple books that collect dust for the time we have them in our possession. Except those that I read aloud to our kids. While I do love to read to and with my kids, at the same time, I desperately want to see them love to read as well. To themselves and to one another. My oldest is a big history buff so when I saw we had the chance to review The League and The Lantern I figured it was worth a try. I thought worst case scenario we would all read it together but I had no idea from the moment it arrived in our mailbox my son and that book would disappear for hours on end.

 

 

“The League and the Lantern” became a reality through the Kickstarter campaign. The book is approximately 282-pages hardcover and recommended for 9 to 14 years old.  Learn more at the book’s official website or its Facebook page.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR : Brian Wells is a concerned dad who couldn’t find quality entertainment for his kids. He has worked and produced 15 TV movies for the major networks, and this is his book debut.

The League and the Lantern Review

The League and the Lantern is the first book in a new adventure series for middle-school readers. It all starts when a dangerous organization invades Jake Herndon’s seventh-grade sleepover. He escapes along with two new classmates, Lucy and TJ, only to face a 48-hour fight for survival on the streets of Chicago. The kids unravel a mystery dating back to the Civil War, and an incredible secret about Jake’s family. Along the way they learn unexpected lessons about courage, family and friendship.”

 

I think the bright and vivid cover of this book definitely helped to encourage my son! I mean, the cover alone gets me excited about the book.  I think it took him about 5 or 6 days to read this one. I could hear him laugh now and then; on occasion he would sigh or I would hear an “I can’t believe it..” from his room. And while I was making dinner, or nursing his baby sister he would now and then come to tell me about something that really impressed him about the story. Some days he just came to me to let me know that I really need to read this book. In fact, he finished reading it and has started it again – at his younger brother and sister’s request – so I really am more and more eager to read this myself! As for my son, he is early awaiting the next book! 😛

 

 

 

 

What truly impressed my son was how the character,Jake, never gave up searching. I love how this character showed so much perseverance, dedication and commitment, to finding the answers he needed. This is a wonderful example too, of true friendship; mercy and compassion. The characters are all written in such a way, that you just know them, by the end of the story. They are friends, and their adventure, it was yours too!  With the history woven into this story, there are quite a few opportunities to expand on the story. Learning more about the Civil War and life in that time; exploring some of the vocabulary within the book. Many great lessons which can be learned through these pages and beyond.

 

 

In a world that is so busy and seems, often, to be so full of opportunities to do for your self, this is a wonderful reminder of the value and importance of others. Its a lesson I hope my children learn and exercise more and more as they get older. Certainly I try to encourage them to grow relationships in our family and outside too, in ways that inspire others. As an added bonus, our kids are encouraged to give, beyond the story itself, through a buy-one-give-one campaign to get books into the hands of those children who cannot afford to purchase their own. What a great ay to encourage a love of reading in others while also helping our children to be servants themselves.

 

 

 

 

 

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Leave a Reply

