So Delight FULL

I haven’t been blogging as much lately. Aside from reviews I have been trying to redirect what learning looks like in our home.   Do I follow a classical model or Charlotte Mason? Perhaps we need to do more unschooling? What about Montessori or even Waldorf? With so many different approaches out there it can be mind-boggling at times. Yet we need to be always thankful for the options we do have.

 

Many Ways to Homeschool Many 

I have heard about Delight directed learning and really that’s the ultimate goal for me. For my children to be full of joy when it comes to learning. But I admit to really struggling with it and how I can make this slower approach work for our family.

 

I admit the idea does give me a bit of anxiety too. I often say that homeschooling is an exercise in faith. Certainly the more I learn about homeschooling using a delight directed approach the more certain I am that this particular approach requires a great deal of faith.

 

I have never been one to write lesson plans in advance. However I have always been one to follow those charts which tell us what we need to know and when we need to know it. As we have continued to homeschool through these years we have loosened up a bit. Those charts that list all our kids are required to know has been filed away. Although I admit to peering into those files now and then. And always regretting it for the lists of things that they tell me my children need to know.

 

This summer we have really tried to get out and explore our area more. I confess we have lived in the same place for about 10 years and I really don’t know much about it. As we are hosting a visitor from France for about 3 weeks, we are a bit more inspired  to get out there and see what’s in our own backyard.

 

This also makes for some fabulous and fun-filled field trips. When we have the opportunity to explore and experience something, it really brings about a greater opportunity for real learning to happen.

 

 

 

Certainly there are struggles and there will be some gaps in the learning but I do believe that if we learn how to learn it won’t matter so much. The call as for my children to grow a love for learning.  If we can successfully do that they will always be able to learn whatever they need to know as it comes their way.

 

Learning is not something we take lightly and this family however the greatest value is in having a strong foundation.  If our children are able to think for themselves and if they’re able to research things using wisdom and discernment they will always be able to learn.  And if they truly delight in learning they will always be learning.

 

For now we have put away the curriculum. This summer we are golfing, we are going on lots of nature hikes.  We are visiting museums and exploring local communities and reading together.

 

 

My oldest son is working to advance his skills in French and Chinese and Spanish.  My younger son has taken an interest in the stars and so for now we are enjoying a bit of astronomy. And my older daughter has gained an interest in ice skating (even though it isn’t quite the season for this one).  Hahaha

 

 

I’m not sure how far we will go with us but for now I am encouraged by how eager my kids are to learn and by the many things they tell me they would like to learn about when I ask. 😀

Leave a Reply

