Let Us Give? 

I was recently approached to teach a class for my kids speech and debate group this fall. We’ve been a part of this program for a couple years now and it has blessed us in so many ways.

So why was I so hesitant when asked if I could help? It seems this year they have many new families and the previous teacher is wanting to spend some time engaging with her own kids who she has sacrificed so much for in the past two years. It’s time for someone else to take a turn.

I admit I had many reasons why I could not teach this class. My almost 18 month old daughter who is very clingy and likely won’t take the nursery. And I admit a lot of it is a hesitation because I tend to lack those organizational skills that you need to have to occupy a bunch of 7, 8, 9 ,10 and 12 year old kids for two hours. And what if I just can’t keep it all together?

As I went through these many reasons why I simply cannot do this I heard that voice in my head. You might know the one. I always know when God is speaking to me because often it’s what I don’t want to hear. Honestly. It’s truth and off and it stings just a bit. But I remind myself in those times to love him and thank him for his correction and guidance.

I heard that voice tell me that we are here to serve. We are here to sacrifice and love one another. And these relationships I heard that voice tell me but we are here to serve. We are here to sacrifice and love one another. And if he’s relationships but I haven’t spent much time cultivating in the past, perhaps now it’s time to begin. We cannot Minister and we cannot reach out without having that relationship in place.

I was also reminded that my God is a God of order and not of chaos. While there is nothing wrong with winging it now and then there is a time when we must put things in order. In our home and in our homeschool and in our days in general. There are so many blessings to come from having things in the right place. And of course that doesn’t mean that we can’t just have fun now and then following any rabbit trails that come our way.  But it is good to use the time that we are given in the right way.

Ironically I was recently gifted a couple of boxes that are full of unit study materials. I initially accepted these in the hopes that I could begin doing more unit studies with my kids but how good is God to put these things in order for me? Perhaps I will need to make a few copies and obtained a couple books for craft materials but for the most part it’s all right there.

There’s a time and a season for everything.  I am reminded again and again of how blessed my children have been by the teachers end of the friend they have gained through this program. I know without a doubt that there is much that would not be if it were not for the time and dedication that this teacher is invested in each other children. And I am so appreciative of the way they have encouraged my oldest son to come out of his shell and speak.

We are called to be Salt and Light to the world.  Let us be without hesitation always ready to show ourselves as that Salt and Light.  Let us remind ourselves what challenges come our way that they are really simply opportunities that God has put before us. These are simply opportunities for us to grow and show His love and goodness to others! ♡♡

Leave a Reply

