God Is Good

Psalm 100:5 for the Lord is good his steadfast love endures forever and his faithfulness to all generations

I’ve been thinking this morning about the goodness of God. I mean if we’re honest this day is when some of us doubt His goodness. When things don’t go as planned or when we’re in the midst of the trial how often do we remind ourselves that God is still good?

I work from home for a foreign exchange program. My family hosts the student most years and this year’s we have a darling young girl from Thailand with us. Of course there are also a number of kids but it was very difficult to place and well every student did end up in a home there was a lot of pressure but others placed on people to host. And there was a lot of pressure on me to put a lot of pressure on others to host. Something I just can’t do.  To me working with foreign exchange whether as a representative or as a host is something that we do for the joy. Not because we were cornered and beaten into submission.  Haha

Needless to say I was sad to hear how many of this sweet women I work with completely neglected their families and their own children to find placements for the students. Now I said I have the utmost of respect for all of them and the sacrifices they are making but when I was advised that I needed to put things aside and do more right now I admit I simply couldn’t comply. After all well I do believe in this program and I do believe that this is such a blessed opportunity to reach out and share the love of God I fear if we neglect our home and our families to do so God will not bless that. After all how can he bless us when we are not keeping him and what he has called us to first?

God says we are to seek first the kingdom of God. That means we need to be spending time in the word and in prayer. We need to take time to worship and praise him. To come before him with thanks. If God is for us who can be against us?

I hear so many people talk about all the wonderful things that they are doing. Counting on their own works. And I remember how we are told that there will be a day but some will they told to the park. For God will say to them I never knew you.

What we are doing isn’t always what God wants us to be doing. It’s so important for us to be sure that our will is the Lord’s will. I think about how I envisioned my work with this Exchange program. But there would be families that would come and individuals who would come to volunteer as their community’s representative. 

I believed as I went into prayer the God would pull it all together. God would call them to host and to represent. And while I have something that looks very different from that right now I still believe that in God’s time this will all become something more. I remind myself that God works in the little things.

I remind myself that I don’t only have to host families. Rather I am blessed with two host families who are both happy to be a part of this exchange program. I cannot allow myself to see what I don’t have but I really must focus on what I do have.  

I see tl so many lessons with in my experiences these last few days with this Exchange program. I see women who are working and running themselves ragged doing.  And doing without the blessing of the Lord. I see how important it is for us to always remember no matter what situation we’re in that God goes before us and we can never allow anything to come before the Lord. We have to be strong and we have to be sure. All the time.

So no matter what God is with us and if we are faithful to him in our trials God will be faithful to us.  This is my reminder that I cannot allow anything to ever come before the work that God has called me to and my home and with my family. This is also a reminder of how important it is to remember how good God is all the time.  Trusting in the Lord and leaning on His wisdom, not my own. 

For the Lord is good and his love endures forever.   

It is so easy to get caught up in the things of this world. I myself have forgotten to lean on the Lord at times and have determined to do things in My Own Strength. And I can attest to the fact but the fruit is not as Bountiful when things are done without the Lord and His blessing.  

For now all of the students have a family and we can rest for a bit but they will be more students coming in the spring and in the year to come. I am thankful to the Lord for the families that are hosting and for the students that are here. I’m excited to see what the Lord will do with all of this too. 

I do believe that there is so much the Lord is doing in these last days. And I just know if anyone has any desire at all God will show himself strong. I’m so I do believe that now is the time to cover all of the kids and the families in prayer. To pray for those who are here and those who are yet to come. To continue to pray and ask God send them. 

But as always they willing to say Lord here I am. Send me.  

Leave a Reply

