We are Israelites

We’ve been having some issues with our oldest children lately. Mostly that we are not seeing the fruits of our labor. And while I can’t speak for my husband have been getting rather frustrated myself,  I admit.

 
And I was complaining to my husband the other day about how I see so much in our children that should never be. Behaviors and habits that are never taught as good or approved yet they are there. Regularly. As though they were not just taught to our children but also encouraged.

 

Just this morning when I told my son it was time to do his school he stormed off and I heard him mumble about how “school sucks….”

 

Where does the stuff come from? I mean we embrace learning my husband and I. He is currently working on classes for his MBA. And I always have my nose in a book studying something.

 

My husband can be so smart sometimes. He said to me, ” isn’t that what God says about every one of us?”

 

And I admit that struck a chord. I had to bite my tongue from instantly disagreeing simply because it’s so true. What a telling reminder it is. How hard it is to remember that our children they need to be taught, trained….they are sinners too. What a humbling reminder it is that as parents we can teach and train and lay down all the rules we want to but it’s up to them to choose to obey.

Which got me to thinking. Is it possible for me to be as faithful to my children as God is to His own? Can I love my children even when they are at their worst. Can I love them when I see or hear them saying and doing things that I find to be horrible? Do they see me as loving them always or do my kids believe that I only love them when they are “good”?

 

Again and again God reminds me that there is a process to everything. There is a way in which we must go. There are things that we need to learn and there are trials that will come our way but in all of this God Is With Us loving us and encouraging us. But we have to be willing to stay with him and we have to be willing to allow God to work in us.

 

 

I think of how many times God has shown me the way that I must go. The days that I have heard that still small voice speaking to me and then I have gone and done it my way. And then I wonder why my children just can’t do as they’re told.

 

 

It’s hard to remember that it’s not all about me. I am not the one who can save and change my children’s hearts and Minds. I need to Simply pray and seek God and continue being faithful.  God is the only one who can do that work in our children. He is the one who creates hearts and minds that are all for Jesus.

 

It’s hard to remember. It’s humbling too. But what freedom we have once we acknowledge it’s not us but God. If we seek Him first, the Kingdom first…..

Leave a Reply

