What are we Striving For? 


The scripture has been running through my mind for a few days now.

Particularly how we are to strive for Mastery.

I guess this really speaks to me because right now all of the things we are doing just don’t seem to be working. We are losing the joy and the peace in our home education. And I just cannot let learning become something that everyone dreads in our home.

I have to admit that most of the drudgery comes from me feeling the need to check things off everyday. I need for them to do things that I feel matter. And I admit to falling into that comparison trap just a bit.

But I am determined to do things differently. With Mastery being the key.

 

Instead of us simply doing my work and getting it done each day I want to slow down and strive for Mastery with my children in everything we do.

I need to let go and have faith as the Lord guides us in our journey. I need to worry less about how many years I have left to cram everything in and I need to focus on those years that I get to enjoy and learn alongside my children. I need to stop comparing them to other people’s children. One of the biggest reasons we homeschool is because every child is different and so comparison only hurts our children.

It’s about being restful. It’s about enjoying the process of learning together. And it is also about mastering those things that we are learning.

2 thoughts on “What are we Striving For? 

Leave a Reply

