Celebrating Manhood: A Rite of Passage Guide ~ A Homeschool Review

My boys are getting older. My oldest turns 12 this fall and what a change! My firstborn is no longer that simple, sweet, joy filled little babe I can swaddle and snuggle. Now he is tall, he is moody and kind of rebellious, if I am honest. He and I, especially, struggle to have a strong relationship and to find joy in one another. Boys will be boys? I think not. God has so much for this young man of mine; I need Jesus every step of the way if we are going to do this right. He isn’t a baby anymore; its time for a big change, so  Celebrating Manhood: a rite of passage guide , from the Home School Adventure Co really intrigued me. I was hopeful that the wisdom within this may help me to encourage and walk with him, as he gets closer to manhood.  Celebrating Manhood: a rite of passage guide is available as both a print or digital material; we received the digital download for this review.

 

 

Celebrating Manhood a Rite of Passage GuideThis guide is a wonderful encouragement to help us celebrate and honor the “man” that is our boy. Let’s face it, he isn’t our baby anymore and so fellowship with him ought to change. The author, Stacy Farrell, recommends doing this with our boys around the age of 14 or 15 (mine turns 12 this fall); she expresses the importance and great value of rites of passage. Not just for the purpose of celebrating and honoring our young man but also as a way to ensure that he has strong, healthy relationships with other men .. that he is engaged in “manly” activities. Only 37 pages long, this is a simple yet beautiful reminder of the value of celebrations in the lives of our boys. Throughout history, so many cultures around the world, have ceremonies and traditions to honor those who are going from boy to man Why wouldn’t we do the same? After all, this is a huge marker in their life and we should want to inspire and encourage them in their path. “When I was a child, I spoke like a child,

I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.

When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.”

1 Corinthians 13:11

This guide is full of great suggestions and materials to encourage a rite of passage such as: 

  • Invitation Template and Menu Suggestions for Rite of Passage Gathering
  • Question Cards
  • What I value and Respect
  • If Only I Had Known
  • I Remember When
  • Celebrating the Rite of Passage

 

 

Since my son is still so young we didn’t do a ton with this but we definitely plan on using this more extensively as he gets older. This did inspire me however, as I read through the question cards, to encourage my son to reach out to those around him who he sees as friends and mentors. I even began putting together a simple little questionnaire for some of the men in our church o complete; a resource perhaps for my son as he gets older. To see and look to when he is feeling down and out; it is meant to be a resource for him as he gets older. Helping him look to others in the faith who are walking this out themselves yet still have their own struggles. It’s so important for our kids (and us too!) to know that those around us have their own stories, powerful testimonies, that need to be shared. Truly I believe that is a big part of iron sharpening iron. This is a wonderful tool to help encourage deeper discussion and a sharing of Gods goodness as each one of us experiences it in our life.

 

1 Thessalonians 5:7 says: Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do.

 

This is a wonderful material to help encourage and bring to life this very thing.  🙂

 

Be sure to check out all of the other good things that Home School Adventure Co. has!

 

Resources with a Biblical Worldview{Home School Adventure Co. Reviews}

Connect with Home School Adventure Co.

Twitter:  @HomeSchoolAdven

Facebook:  HomeSchoolAdventureCo

Pinterest:  homeschooladven

Google+:  +Homeschooladventure

YouTube: HomeSchoolAdventure

Crew Disclaimer 

Leave a Reply

