Learning to Love

I woke up this morning and the first thing I read (God sure knows what we need all the time) was this:

 

Cease endlessly striving for what you would like to do and learn to love what must be done. – Goethe

 

 

In this season I am in right now, where I am super tired and achy, I think we have been sick with something off and on for a couple weeks now too, I am the first to admit that loving is not my strong suit. Too many days where I want to just stay under the blankets; hidden away from everyone and everything,

 

 

As I look around at ours all house thats so full of people and things… I realize that my discomfort and discontent is about so much more than what it seems. As I look over and plan how to reorganize our home, I have to admit that I also need to reorganize some things within my self. My attitude, my mind and my heart. These cannot be overlooked.

 

 

 

Are we not told we ought to learn to be content with all things, in all seasons? We can only do this when we are wisely thinking on those things with are (as the Word of God tells us: pure, true, honest, just, lovely, of good report.  We are reminded, if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. ❤

 

 

The truth is that what we believe and what we think has a great effect on us. It is said that faith without works is dead, for this very reason. If we have faith it will cause us to take action. We will do something that others see. Whether for good or for evil …. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

 

 

 

If I am completely transparent right now, my heart is not in the best of health. I have allowed myself for a long time to think on things that are better left to rest. I have allowed my mind to wander; instead of focusing on the things which are before me, things which God has so blessed me with even as I am so undeserving, I have instead allowed myself to ponder “a better way.”

 

 

As if I am somehow wiser than the Lord God himself; if I (we) truly want to see contentment and great gain, we must take captive our thoughts. We need to love what is before us and love those things that must be done. Let us always remember that with God in us, we can do al things. And it all begins with our attitude and what we think.

 

 

And as I explore and seek to simplify my home, my family and my self, I see the great value that comes from honesty; as I have read recently in No More Faking Fine sometimes we need to lament—our hurt needs a voice, we need to acknowledge that frustration, and disappointment which we have held within while we “fake fine”.

 

 

 

And it is such a blessing to remember, when we feel so very far from God (perhaps for yet another season in our life) He is always there and always ready to welcome us back into His fold. There is never a thing we can do that separates us from Him when we are truly willing and eager to learn of Him, to take up our cross. Repentance and the new north in Christ, these are so powerful. Sometimes I think we forget; inboxed dark seasons we feel so removed from the Lord and so sure that He is not with us. But glory to God He is always near. We need only cal on Him and He will answer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

