Join the Adventures of Captain Absolutely {Review}

My oldest son has always enjoyed comic books. I admit I have not been as encouraging as I could be about him reading them. Then we received Captain Absolutely from  Focus On The Family. We absolutely love Adventures in Odyssey, so when we learned that there was a comic based on this, we were so eager to get our hands on a copy. My reluctant reader could not get this out of the package quick enough either, when it arrived!

How can we possibly discourage our children from reading this comic? Truth, justice, and lots more truth! lol

In this adventure, Josiah and his friend Darren are in the library.  Darren is updating systems, straightening books when there is an explosion in the library (oh my! those books.) and Josiah King ends up in a room full of Bibles. His friend ends up in the philosophy section (he becomes the evil Dr. Relative). It is here that, for the first time, he reads the Word of God. As he reads, strange radioactive fumes appear, transforming him into a superhero – He stands and battles evil villains, defending the God and truth!

We all loved this! I admit, I had to sneak it so I could read it. Both of my boys devoured this one though the moment it arrived.
My 7 year old son, is a struggling reader, but that didn’t stop him from grabbing this one and reading what he could.

“There were so many words!”

“Baron Von Confuser has a really cool plane. Like the Red Baron.”

“Who puts mustard on pretzels”

These are just a few of his comments. 🙂

My super reluctant reader (but comic book lover) who is 11 devoured this; two days in a row I caught him reading this!

“I like all the scripture references.”

“He is so right….if we follow God’s direction we won’t ever really be lost”

“I do not like those pajama bandits – bedtime is already too early if you ask me!”

“God is better than me, He loves even the bad guys. I should too. Even my brother.”

My favorite part? All the references to scripture within the pages of this comic book!

As I said before, I am not a fan of comics at all ut this one? I read this one front to back and enjoyed every word.

It wasn’t just a fun read but one that had the Bible woven into it – as you eat you learned truths without even realizing it.

A sermon in comic book form perhaps?
My oldest son even made a little video to share some of this awesome story and why all kids need to read it.

I never would have thought a comic could be such a great tool for learning, honestly! Amazing illustrations.; about 100 pages, this kept my boys completely captivated. Every page. And the Biblical lessons they learned from this story were good ones too! What a wonderful way to remind our kids of the real value and power of the Word of God. We absolutely love Captain Absolutely!

Captain Absolutely {Focus On The Family Review}

Get social with Focus On The Family:

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/AIOFanPage/    Tag: @AIOFanPage

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/FocusFamily    Tag:@FocusFamily

Pinterest: https://au.pinterest.com/focusfamily/       Tag: @focusfamily/

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/focusonthefamily/      Tag: @focusonthefamily

Google+:  https://plus.google.com/+focusonthefamily

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/FocusOnTheFamilyUSA

Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

