It’s The Crafty Classroom {Review}

Who here has a hard time coming up with creative. crafty things for our kids to do, and learn, with? I so desperately want my kids to have fun while they learn; I want them to see learning as something that is enjoyable. I also want them to learn and grow in the Word of God; as I am sure you can imagine I was thrilled to find myself with the opportunity to review the Bible ABC Curriculum Notebook from The Crafty Classroom. And my daughter was so very excited about this too. 😀

 

 

My daughter is almost six years old; we have been working on letters and sounds and some basic sight words as much as possible in the past year. But she has only recently really begun to want to do this.  I love how she comes to me to ask for some things to do so she can read “like her brothers do.”  Of course, I also believe in the value of teaching our children all things, with a Biblical worldview. So my sweet girl has been a Bible Quizzer for two years now in our church and how she loves being able to learn to read while also having her own Bible study time. Its a wonderful way to teach reading as we learn letters and sounds and verses too!

 

 

ABC Bible Curriculum Notebook 

I have to say, I was excited about this before I received it but I was even more excited once I had it. There are twenty six letters in the alphabet; this is over 600 pages of amazingly fun activities to help reinforce each one. There is a Bible Study “topic” for each week; this includes a verse to learn, mazes, coloring, a story of course, character lessons, letter searching and lots more activities!

 

As my daughter learns about Samson, she also learns about strength; we learned about the queen and courage. Each theme included a vocabulary work (favor), a verse to study (Genesis 6:8), and the character of God represented in that (gracious) along with a verse (Psalm 103:8). Everything from A to Z.

 
 

One of the things that was a bit of a challenge for me with this was that there is so much there –  I cannot possibly print all these pages at home – sometimes we will send ebooks to our local copy shop – this one was just too much though! And since there were many pages my daughter just wasn’t that interested in (she knows her ABC’s – just needs reinforcement) and there were other pages she just couldn’t get enough of, we printed out one page at a time. Some of the pages we just reviewed on the computer – I would have her point to and count each letter she found that was the letter we were working on that week. And the tracing pages we laminated so that she could use them again and again.

 

I think my favorite thing about this program is how easy it is to use. I don’t work with my daughter everyday (not wanting to make this “work”) but most days she does come requesting some thing so she can study the Bible. 🙂 And then all we have to do is print out the pages for her to work on. I will typically have her sit with me for a story, then some tracing work but I let her choose two or three of the fun pages each time and she just loves that! All you need is your Bible and you can get started! Of course she recommends a couple other things (f you plan to print the whole thing out) like a nice fat folder and some dividers to separate each week of study. And there are a few things (games your kids will love) that need to be cut out before you can play.

 
 

My biggest fault in this home learning thing (if I can be totally transparent here) is that I love to plan but I always kind of stop there. I get distracted easily by this or that. I find an awesome program and then get lost in all the things to do so that I can begin to do that program. Not the case with this one. It’s so easy even I can use it successfully! haha

 

 

Everything is clearly and neatly laid out. No mess. No stress. She even breaks down what work is to be done each day. There is a Bible reading suggestion provided and even talking points. You can have some great conversations with these younger ones talking about the things of God. I mean, some of the things my kiddos say, I am just speechless. Sometimes because of the wisdom other times … At the beach when she is covered in sand and muck and declares she is “just as God made her.”

 

Whether you are looking to introduce letters to your children, or perhaps to encourage Bible Study with your littlest ones, this is such a great program. It is affordable, it is FUN, it is full of goodness! This was one even my littlest girl enjoys 😛

 

 

The Homeschool Review Crew is reviewing a lot of different materials from The Crafty Classroom such as: non-Bible version of the ABC packLearn to R.E.A.D. Curriculum Notebook, the USA Activity Bundle and How to Write a Paragraph curriculum. The last two are recommended for older kids and while I have not used them yet myself, I am eager to get my hands on them for my boys. Don’t take my word for it though! 😛

 

Crafty Classroom {Reviews}

Facebook 

Twitter @craftyclassroom

Pinterest @craftyclassroom

Instagram @thecraftyclassroom

Crew Disclaimer

3 thoughts on “It’s The Crafty Classroom {Review}

  1. I just posted my review of the Learn to R.E.A.D. Curriculum Notebook this morning too and we definitely have an eye on the Bible Alphabet Curriculum. I’m thinking it might be a good one for my three-year-old. We are loving this stuff, but you are right. There is so much!

    1. I am going to have to read your review now because that’s one I have my eye on for after this. Of course all of her programs look SO good! And yes, lots of fun! That’s the key right? 😛

Leave a Reply

