Distracted

I’ve been a bit distracted lately.

Perhaps it’s the piles of books that are strewn all over our house as I try to purge just a bit and prepare for the coming year.

Or maybe it’s just because I have spent quite a bit of time thinking about how quickly the years are going by. My oldest son soon to be 12. Well I don’t typically count the years in this case I kind of sigh as I realized that there’s only a couple more to go. These twelve years have gone by too fast. So much but still needs to be done taught trained. So many regrets and distractions through the years.

And as I’ve been pondering what we will do for the coming year. What we will study and where we will go a new friend that I met recently brilliantly said but sometimes we need to go back. When I destination is clear sometimes that really helps place to determine what path we shall take.

For some time now I’ve been struggling with bringing the lights back into my oldest son. Perhaps it’s just a stage he’s in but he’s lost that excitement. It’s harder for him to answer when I ask him what he wants to learn today. I fear that he too has gotten a bit distracted. There are just so many things making it hard for us to focus on what really matters.

I know my oldest son often gets frustrated. The material is too easy or it’s too difficult. So much material that is designed for our children is dumbed down. It is sad that our children are not given the opportunity to learn with material that is truly inspiring. Far too often isn’t it the case that while we want or children to learn and to love learning we give them material but makes them dumb.

Our children have so much potential! The things our children could do if we simply give them good food.
I remember another mom being mystified by my refusal to give my children a children’s Bible. She was certain that there was no way a child could possibly understand the Bible as it was written. And yet that is exactly what my children know as being the true word of God.
So much is just a distraction. Instead of our children having what is best for them we give them what is easiest. And unfortunately no one has ever been inspired by something easy.

It is so important to inspire our children. To give them the opportunity to truly understand something deep.
I strive to remind myself and this coming year that it doesn’t matter academically skilled my children are if they do not have a love for the Lord.  I remind myself that it is better to have salvation and to be in tune with the heart and mind of God. 
As we move forward into a new year I remind myself but I cannot compare what we are doing to what anyone else does. I remind myself that it is more important to have my children’s hearts than anything else. As we move forward I determined to spend this year building strong character in my children. Developing relationships with one another.

The wise woman builds her house. How desperately I need to spend this coming here building my house.

2 thoughts on “Distracted

  1. Amen, I’m with you on this. There are lots of distractions and things to pull us away and down from our true goals. May you all be blessed of Jesus as you homeschool this year and disciple your children.

Leave a Reply

