Posted in Bible Studies

How Low Can You Go?

Ephesians 4:2 (KJV) With all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love

 

Are we? Am I? What does it really mean anyway to be meek, lowly, forbearing and long suffering?

 

Gentle/meekness:  The spirit in which we accept God’s dealings with us without disputing and resisting; the accepting patiently of injuries done to us by men, out of the thought that they are permitted by God for the chastening and purifying of His people

Humbleness/lowliness:  In classic Greek, it is a  meanness of spirit: the Gospel has elevated the word to express something deeper;  Christian grace, namely,  esteeming ourselves small, inasmuch as we are so;  thinking truly, , therefore lowlily, of ourselves.


Long suffering / patient:  The word means, not taking swift vengeance or inflicting speedy punishment, in a more general  sense = forbearance of every kind.

 

It is a worthy question to be considered. Seriously. These verses speak as to the way we must walk as a follower of Christ;we ought to carefully  consider our words and actions, making sure that I do things as His will would have me to do.  Being a part of the body of Christ there is much we are responsible for. It is so much easier to focus on my needs,  than to look for needs in those around us.   We need to speak and live our testimony; there is so much God can do when we are willing to move our feet. . Christ’s Word and His  love should be such a natural part of my.  life (like breathing) that it should be my great desire to  encourage, to be a prayer warrior, a gentle tempered woman, to walk in faith, in the Spirit.  Like a knee jerk reaction, when there is a need or a hurt within the body, we are quick to be present, eager to be of service. If we are the body….

 

As a stay at home mother, a keeper of the home, a home educator of three children –  I admit it – I feel more than justified in not being as present as I perhaps, should, be with the brethren.  Add pregnancy to the list and I often find myself on empty by mid-afternoon. We all have our reasons. I mean I could go on and on about how my personality is not that of an extrovert, people make me uncomfortable when I do not really know them (but how do we know another if we do not invest time and energy into them?)  My time is precious, it is limited and full ~ yet when we reach out to another, HE sees that. He knows I am tired, sick, uncomfortable and unsure of how I can help….If it is done for His glory, with the sincere desire, to be a blessing to another, He will provide whatever we may need. We must be watchmen; we must be intercessors. We are to be known by our love for one another and if we do not show that ….Doesn’t the Word say, without love one for another, all else, is meaningless ?

 

I have said this a lot lately – I need to be more intentional. I need to reach out more, even when I don’t want to. I need to answer that email, take that call – even though I would rather continue reading or writing, or just enjoying a moment of that dangerous thing called silence (the last time I had that, it was to my disdain – my oldest son cutting his brothers hair – he heard that his brother needed one  LOL)  I like to think I have started off well – going out on a limb and joining our church’s secret sister group – I admit I didn’t want to, was in the meeting and wanted to just leave already – was I ever blessed with a wonderful and sweet Sister though. An exciting and inspiring year it is and shall continue to be getting to know this lady.l  It’s a start anyway for me 🙂

 

In these long, tiring days especially I pray I am even-tempered throughout my day. It is difficult at times to be patient and calm, but with Christ all things are possible. I pray also that my attitude  may be one that reflects encouragement, love, and inspiration ~  Certainly I pray for the strength and wisdom to always stand and speak truth but I also pray for the patience and wisdom to know when to hold my tongue!  Jesus, Help me to live my life filled with your Spirit,  showing grace and mercy and love and truth. Help me to always remember that my purpose is to always shine, to always share the truth of the Gospel and to be your hands and feet, joyfully obedient and always ready to do your will. . Keep always in remembrance, the words of James 1:2-3 “consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”  Give me joy, Jesus, just give me joy! 

In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

 

 

Let us Do Something ❤

 

 

Author:

I am a God loving and fearing Apostolic Pentecostal - All about Holiness, a tongue Talking Homeschooling Mommy of Two AWESOME little men and two darling little ladies, with a precious one in Jesus arms too. I love to study His word, and the stories and histories that go along with it. Seeking truth at all expense and learning so much as we go along. We are truly blessed to homeschool - blessed that we may school our children for such a small cost. I believe in the power of the name of Jesus and the power of His people when they come together in prayer. Standing firm and speaking out! There is nothing that I seek more than His kingdom and the joys that follow Him! Ultra conservative, growing Jesus follower, mommy to two awesome boys, one precious little girl- with a great family and a wonderful life that I am so blessed to have! Living and loving as best I can, with the Lord-Holy Ghost filled and speaking in tongues-WOW!

One thought on “How Low Can You Go?

  1. Thank you. I needed this reminder….especially the part about being present with the brethren. I tend to get all involved my own little world at home and forget about the other people that God wants me to reach out to 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.