Posted in Un School Home School

Devoted

The holidays seem to be upon us. Where has the year gone? How does the time pass so quickly? Every year it seems this time comes in a rush, for me, unexpected and sudden. We move from our peaceful and relaxed days, to a bit more hurried and purposeful of time. It becomes harder to hang on to my time with my Lord – prayer, studies…they seem harder to have each year.

I remind myself often that my little ones are not so little; that one day I will have all the quiet time I long for, me and my Bible. In the meantime I need to enjoy my time with them; hang onto that joy and share God’s word as much as I can that they heart and mind may grow more and more in love with Him each day.

We use devotionals. I never use them as a stand alone; some days it feels they are though. So I was thrilled to be able to read Awakening Faith. I love the early church fathers; such wisdom and depth in their words. So much of the power and truth that is so lacking today. I also enjoy the history that is woven into their words. And this devotional is no different. It reminds me of the power of His word; it helps to strengthen me on those days when I am so very weary. I have learned and continue to learn much of the early church. Many names never before heard – there is a handy appendix full of details about the various church fathers; a list of scriptures indexed within too. Often I find devotionals to be soft and fluffy but this one is a gem. In fact this is one you keep close and read again and again gleaning much each time.

Right now those days come often. Much to do. Preparing for family and friends. Baking and gathering; crafting. This is a season full of busyness. Let us not lose our faith and our Lord though in this time.

“History instructs us, the law teaches us, prophecy foretells, rebukes condemn us, wisdom persuades us, but the book of Psalms goes further than all of these. It is medicine for our spiritual health. When we read it, we find a medicine to cure the wounds caused by any of our passions. Whoever studies it deeply will find it to be like a gymnasium for their soul, where the different psalms are like different exercises set out before them. In that gymnasium, in that stadium of virtue, they can choose the exercises that will best train them to win the victor’s crown.” ~~Ambrose

Author:

I am a God loving and fearing Apostolic Pentecostal - All about Holiness, a tongue Talking Homeschooling Mommy of Two AWESOME little men and two darling little ladies, with a precious one in Jesus arms too. I love to study His word, and the stories and histories that go along with it. Seeking truth at all expense and learning so much as we go along. We are truly blessed to homeschool - blessed that we may school our children for such a small cost. I believe in the power of the name of Jesus and the power of His people when they come together in prayer. Standing firm and speaking out! There is nothing that I seek more than His kingdom and the joys that follow Him! Ultra conservative, growing Jesus follower, mommy to two awesome boys, one precious little girl- with a great family and a wonderful life that I am so blessed to have! Living and loving as best I can, with the Lord-Holy Ghost filled and speaking in tongues-WOW!

One thought on “Devoted

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.